What-to-Wear for: City Volunteering

Exciting news! Today I am going to go volunteer at a celebrity makeup event in the city with Tiffany Bartok, called “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” at Angelique Bridal. It was simple – I saw the post and just emailed them. But I’m still excited to start volunteering for fashion events and working my way into that world. Anyhow, what does one wear for such an occasion? Well, whatever they tell you too, basically. Fortunately the guidelines given to me were fairly broad – business attire or all black. So here is my inspiration:

Audrey Hepburn in "Breakfast at Tiffany's."

Audrey Hepburn in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”

The queen of simplicity and class, Hepburn turned all-black dressing into an art form in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.” I’m going for the all-black look today (which is hard to do when you have only half your wardrobe in a college closet, and you surprisingly don’t have a lot of black). I’m wearing black leggings (Old Navy), a black cowl-neck sweater (Nordstrom’s) and a black blazer (from Macy’s, a while ago. I definitely need a better one…), and either black heels or flats (I’m bringing both and deciding when I get there). If you start to branch out to look for different fashion opportunities, and have similar guidelines for dressing, here’s a Polyvore set to help you find this simple black look with an affordable price tag:

Styled with Polyvore.

Styled with Polyvore.

Blazer: $40, newlook.com. Sweater: $4o, houseoffraser.co.uk. Leggings: $22, houseoffraser.co.uk. Heels: $40, zappos.com. Flats: $24, boohoo.com.

As far as makeup and hair go, I’m probably either going to do my hair half up, half down, or put it into a chic sock bun. I’m going to line my top lids and wear subtle pink lipstick, as the event is called “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”

Hope you all have a great Thursday! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

